"In the Know" Weekly Newsletter - The International School

SUN Community Schools - After School Program Eligibility

Portland Public Schools would like to remind  families residing within the catchment for any SUN school receiving 21st CCLC funding that they are eligible to participate in that site’s programming regardless of the students’ attendance at the school.

  • HOW: If you live in the catchment for Chavez and George in Roosevelt Cluster, Chief Joseph/Ockley Green, Vernon and Woodlawn in Jefferson Cluster, Rigler in Madison Cluster, Woodmere in Franklin Cluster and Whitman in Cleveland Cluster.
  • WHAT: SUN Schools are a partnership between PPS, the City and the County. Activities include academic and enrichment programming as well as physical activities and creative endeavors.
  • WHEN: Each site is individualized and SUN School Fall programming begins in early September.

Please check with the SUN Site Manager at your neighborhood school for
specifics and to check on availability! Site manager contact information can be found here:

Cesar Chavez: Maria Velez
(503) 501-7955 c
(503) 916-5906 office
mvelez@nhweb.org

Vernon: Michelle Tellis
(503) 916-6559
michellet@selfenhancement.org

George: Flynne Olivarez
(503) 916-5718
(503) 544-6009
folivarez@nhweb.org

Whitman: Laurelee Wells
(503) 290-8058
lwells@impactnw.org

Ockley Green/Chief Joseph: Coya Goodman
(503) 916-5663
coyag@selfenhancement.org
Self-Enhancement Inc.

Woodlawn: Brandon Hopson
(503) 916-6282, x7856
brandonh@selfenhancement.org

Rigler: Zandy Gordon
(503) 916-6152
(503) 412-9932 c
zandyg@irco.org

Woodmere: Walter Rodriguez
(503) 734-5423
wrodriguez@impactnw.org